Dave Clarke

Monday, 22 November 2010


World of Haters

Monday, 22 November 2010


Juan Atkins

Tuesday, 28 July 2009

Filthy Dukes
Written by Barry Healy   
Friday, 03 April 2009 13:00
Filthy Dukes

Bookmark This

Add to: Digg Add to: Add to: Reddit Add to: StumbleUpon Add to: Furl Information

Related Content

Filthy Dukes – Nonsense in the Dark

There has been much anticipation surrounding the release of London three-piece Filthy Dukes debut album; this is mainly due to their renowned remix capabilities. The album is in essence a blend of most of what has been good in electronic music over the past decade or so, coupled with the fact they recorded it on the mixing desk of producer Conny Plank (the desk that Kraftwerk used) makes for a very interesting album indeed.

The album opens with ‘This Rhythm’ and ‘Elevator’, the former is a quirky, synth heavy electro pop track which is direct and infectiously catchy, the later a surprisingly disappointing 80’s nostalgic electro pop tune. After this the album really takes off with ‘What Happens Next’, a giddy electro track reminiscent of Audio Bully’s early material full of debauched party vibes. ‘You Better Stop’ is simply pure instrumental electro perfection led by brash drumbeats and perfected by loads of great synths, an instant candidate for track of the album.

Things thunder on in the same vein with ‘Message’, a cheery bouncy track full of quirky sounds, which display clear parallels to ‘Les Rythmes Digitales’. The oddly named ‘Tupac Robot Club Rock’, sees ‘Plastic Little’ rap over pretty frantic grimy beats, the change in genres is momentary and does not disrupt the flow of the album whatsoever. The title track ‘Nonsense in the Dark’ sees them with a little vocal help from Orlando Weeks, of ‘The Maccabees’, create an instant classic. It is an epic piece of captivating indie-influenced electronica that’s utterly chilled from start to finish, and is another stand out track.

This album still has lots to offer with two more instrumentals ‘Cul-De-Sac’ and ‘Twenty Six Hundred’, both are fantastic examples of synth led electro which are full of real energy and class. The album finishes with two mellow tracks ‘Poison the Ivy’ and ‘Somewhere At Sea’, which sees the album come full circle from the energy driven party vibe set out at the beginning.

The album is an eclectic mix of styles and influences which thankfully doesn’t become disjointed and this is no mean feat. There is also a real sense of nostalgia to this record largely due to this blend of influences from what has gone before them. This lack of authenticity is compensated by the overall high calibre of the tracks they have meshed together, perhaps in time we shall see them create there own unique electro sound, but until then this will keep people more than happy.

Rating: 8/10

Filthy Dukes - this Rhythm

Comments (0)

Write comment


Where we at?

You can also find Electric Circus on Facebook, Twitter, Bebo and Myspace

This site has also been featured on Cssmambo, Joomlr and Cmswebshow

We want you!!!

Join up on our forum and become part of the growing community, talk about music or anything else that is going on in your world.

L.. L.. Location

The Electric Circus club night is hosted at the atmospheric Electric Avenue of Waterford, Ireland.